AMARANTH PIE CRUST

Ingredients

1/2 cup arrowroot starch
1/4 cup almond meal flour
3/4 cup organic amaranth flour
1/4 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
3 Tbsp. vegetable oil
3 – 4 Tbsp. water

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Oil a 9-inch pie pan; set aside.

2. Combine dry ingredients and blend well. Combine oil and 3 tablespoons water and blend with fork. Add all at once to flour. Stir only until a ball forms. If ball appears dry and crumbly, add a little more water, one teaspoon at a time, until ball hangs together. (Moisture content of flour varies.)

3. Pat or roll crust to fit into pie pan. Dough tears easily, but mends easily using extra bits to patch. Prick with fork.

4. Bake 3 minutes in 400 degrees oven, fill and finish baking the time required for filling. Or bake about 15 minutes until brown and crisp. Cool and fill. Crust holds up very well after baking.

Makes one 9-inch pie crust (8 slices).

Courtesy of Bob’s Red Mill

3 thoughts on “AMARANTH PIE CRUST

    • Hello Marcella,
      I used Ceylon cinnamon the first time I made the crust, however now I am considering to use the Cassia cinnamon as a variation. Thank you for your comments. Have a great day!

      • I think you will like the Saigon cinnamon.I hope I can find Ceylon cinnamon in the store because I am anxious to try it. I only had one other blogger respond that she uses Ceylon cinnamon and I think she said she lives in England. Thank you so much for responding. Enjoy your day! (You might also like some of my other New Food Friday posts. I’ve written about Jicama, Chayote, and other foods that you may be familiar with.)

Leave a Reply

